Faculty Directory

Flatau, Alison B.

Flatau, Alison B.

Department Chair
Aerospace Engineering
Materials Science and Engineering
3188 Glenn L. Martin



  • B.S., University of Connecticut (Chemical Engineering)
  • M.S., University of Utah (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Ph.D., University of Utah (Mechanical Engineering)




Institutional Services

  • Organized CAREER proposal writing workshop ENGR-A. James Clark School of Engineering
  • Director of Aerospace Undergraduate programs ENGR-Aerospace Engineering
  • Director of Aerospace Honors program ENGR-Aerospace Engineering
  • Faculty Advisor for student AIAA organization ENGR-Aerospace Engineering
  • Chair of undergraduate program faculty committee ENGR-Aerospace Engineering
  • Member new faculty search committee ENGR-Mechanical Engineering


Active flow control, sensor and actuator design, magnetostrictive materials, material characterization, smart fabrics and textiles, vibrations and acoustics 

A Ventilation Coach for Opioid Overdose Bystanders Takes Top Prize at Inaugural Capstone Design Expo

More than 500 Clark School Seniors Showcase Engineering Solutions to Real-World Problems

Alumna Rose Weinstein Receives NASA Early Career Achievement Medal

Award recognizes her contributions to NASA Langley’s flight vehicle dynamics research and digital transformation activities.

UMD Aerospace Gets VR Flight Simulators

Augmented reality, haptics combine to create immersive aviation experiences.

Celebrating Women in Aerospace Engineering: Pauline Annen

Aerospace Engineering alumna Pauline Annen (M.S., ’12) has built a successful career in corporate aviation as both a pilot and engineer.

Celebrating Women in Aerospace Engineering: Alison Flatau

Department of Aerospace Engineering Chair Alison Flatau shares some of her aerospace engineering journey.

Celebrating Women's History Month

Women continue to shape history, including at the Clark School of Engineering. This month we celebrate those landmarks and the work necessary to forge them, and how it’s incumbent upon our larger community to assist in this work.

UMD’s Chopra: A Driving Force in Rotorcraft Engineering

AIAA honors longtime professor for seminal schievements.

Flatau Named UMD AE Chair

Alison Flatau has been named the new chair of aerospace engineering at UMD.

Aerospace Engineering Students Win at AIAA YPSE Conference

Undergraduate and graduate students take top spots at AIAA’s Region 1 Young Professionals, Students, and Educators Conference.

Women in Aeronautics and Astronautics Celebrates Five Years

Student organization celebrates five years of accomplishments during 2019 WIAA Night.

John Baras to receive 2018 AIAA Aerospace Communications Award

Baras honored for his technical contributions and commercialization leadership of Internet over satellite, hybrid satellites, and terrestrial networks.

Salamanca-Riba Appointed 2017/2018 UMD ADVANCE Professor 

Dr. Salamanca-Riba will help facilitate opportunities for advancement among University faculty members, especially under-represented groups.

Alumni Frontin and Stebbins Awarded NASA Fellowships

Two B.S. 2014 UMD aerospace engineering alums, Cory Frontin and Spencer Stebbins, receive NASA fellowships.

Hubbard Named SPIE 2016 Smart Structures and Materials Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

Aerospace Engineering Professor recognized for contributions to the field of smart structures and materials.

Aerospace Engineering Students Win at 2015 AIAA YPSE Conference

Aerospace Engineering grad students Shrestha and Geerts place first and second at 2015 AIAA YPSE Region 1 competition.

UMD Hosts 3D Maryland Expert Group Meeting

Event Highlights 3D Printing, Additive Manufacturing Technologies at UMD

Flatau Promoted to AIAA Fellow

Professor Alison Flatau promoted to Fellow for years of AIAA service and academic and research excellence.

Inaugural UMD Business Model Challenge Winners Announced

Wheel Shields and UMDTutor2Go received top honors at the event.

Tauros Engineering Wins Harvard New Venture Competition

U-Md. startup Tauros Engineering wins top spot in 17th annual Harvard New Venture Completion

UMD's Mtech Pronounces: Business Plan Pitches Are Dead

New Business Model Challenge focuses on business model generation, customer development and pivoting.

Clark School Faculty Recognized at UMD Invention of the Year Awards

26th annual awards ceremony honors most promising campus inventions.

Maryland Innovation Initiative Grant Awarded to Clark School Researchers

Project will advance technology for the real-time detection of bridge scou, a leading cause of failure for bridges in the U.S.

Flatau Awarded ASME Adaptive Structures and Materials Systems Prize

Clark School Associate Dean of Research honored for scholarship and engineering excellence

Faculty Members Take On New Responsibilities

Flatau, Martins, Kofinas to serve Clark School in new roles; Gupta to lead NSF initiative.

Wu, Flatau Invited to National Academies Presidents' Circle Event

Experts tackle issues regarding energy security, nuclear energy, biomedical research, and science and technology.

Espy-Wilson Selected For ADVANCE Program

Professor and entrepreneur is ADVANCE Professor for Women Faculty of Color.

Baz Earns Lifetime Achievement Award

SPIE Smart Structures and Materials honor recognizes service, contributions to field.

Changing the Odds

New NSF-funded UM program seeks to advance women faculty in science, engineering.

Flatau Receives Aerospace Educator Award

Honor recognizes leadership in education and advancement of women engineers.

Leishman, Schaler Named Goldwater Scholars

Aerospace, mechanical engineering students receive premier award for undergraduates.

Flatau to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award

International society honors AeroE professor for smart structures and materials research.

Flatau Appointed Interim Associate Dean

AeroE professor to lead research initiatives for up to three years.

Clark School Holds 2009 Commencement

Conservation advocate Philip Hannam serves as student speaker.

L'Oreal Fellowship Presented to Ugrina

L'Oreal USA Fellowship for Women in Science awarded to alumna.

Aero Undergrads Sweep AIAA Awards

Junior, two seniors take top three spots in technical paper competition.

Inaugural Anderson Scholarship Awarded to Kirk

Madeline Kirk announced as first recipient of Anderson Scholarship in Aerospace Engineering.

Flatau, Nau Win Multi-Year Grants

Awards fund aerospace and ISR national defense research.

Clark School Faculty Receive Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI) Award from the Department of Defense (Dod)

Clark School faculty succeeded in obtaining Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI) award of $5.25M.

Clark School Accomplishments in Fall 2002

A list of Clark school accomplishments for Fall 2002, with an introduction by Dean Nariman Farvardin.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)