Faculty Directory

Murphy, Thomas E.

Murphy, Thomas E.

Keystone Professor
Associate Chair for Research and Faculty Affairs
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Institute for Research in Electronics & Applied Physics
1201E Energy Research Facility


  • Ph.D., Electrical and Computer Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2001
  • M.S., Electrical and Computer Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1997
  • B.A./B.S.E.E., Physics and Electrical Engineering, Rice University, 1994


Thomas E. Murphy studied physics and electrical engineering at Rice University, graduating with joint B.A./B.S.E.E. degrees in 1994. After receiving his Ph.D. degree in in electrical engineering in 2000 from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, he joined MIT Lincoln Laboratory as a staff member in the Optical Communications Technology Group.  In 2002, he joined the faculty at the University of Maryland in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.  He currently serves as the director of the Institute for Research in Electronics and Applied Physics.  His research interests include nonlinear and ultrafast optics, optical and optoelectronic materials, terahertz photonics, electrooptics and microwave photonics.  He is a senior member of the IEEE and a fellow of the Optical Society of America. 


  • Distinguished Scholar-Teacher, The University of Maryland (2020-2021)
  • Fellow of the Optical Society of America (2016)
  • Clark School of Engineering Junior Faculty Outstanding Research Award (2010)
  • Clark School of Engineering E. Robert Kent Junior Faculty Teaching Award (2008)
  • Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) Young Faculty Award (2007)
  • NSF Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award (2006)
  • George Corcoran Award, ECE Department, University of Maryland (2005)
  • Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU) Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award (2004)

Orcid: 0000-0002-8286-3832, Google Scholar

  • Optical communications
  • Short-pulse phenomena
  • Numerical simulation
  • Optical pulse propagation
  • Nanotechnology and integrated photonics

Sennur Ulukus Announced as New ECE Chair

Tenure as Chair began November 7, 2022

Professor Thomas E. Murphy Named Interim Chair

Professor Joseph Jaja steps down after four years of service to the Department of Computer and Electrical Engineering.

14 Mtech-affiliated companies named to Maryland’s list of 20 hottest innovative start-ups

Maryland’s Future 20 is a list of startups that have the potential to be the state’s next major business success story.

Metallic Nanoarcs are Ready to Shine

MSE research group creates a blueprint for predicting the infrared spectra of plasmonic nanoarcs.

Two Engineers Among 2020-2021 Distinguished Scholar-Teachers

Professors Thomas Murphy and Derek Paley have been selected by the University of Maryland as Distinguished Scholar-Teachers.

Behtash Babadi Wins Clark School's Junior Faculty Teaching Award

The Clark School gives this award to a junior faculty member for excellence in teaching.

Prof. Sang Bok Lee appointed director of Maryland NanoCenter

UMD chemist will direct two labs on nanoscale fabrication and characterization

Thomas E. Murphy Reappointed as Director of IREAP

Thomas E. Murphy Reappointed as Director of IREAP

UMD Invention of the Year Nominees Push Boundaries in Health, Energy, and Security

Campus inventors to be honored at Celebration of Innovation and Partnerships

Hu, Leite Named Outstanding Engineer and Scientist of the Year (VIDEO)

Materials Science professors receive awards from the Md. Academy of Sciences and Md. Science Center.

Rafael Setra Named One of Three 2014 UMD Goldwater Scholars

Electrical Engineering and Math major was one of three University of Maryland students selected

Three Clark School Faculty Promoted to Full Professor

Desai, Murphy, and Shapiro promoted to full professors.

Murphy Named IREAP Director

Optics specialist to lead Institute for Research in Engineering and Applied Physics.

Murphy to Lead Physics Research Institute

Daniel Lathrop steps down to take associate dean position with College of Computer, Mathematical and Natural Sciences.

Booz Allen Hamilton Colloquium Series Announced

Topics include automatic speech recognition, computational imaging, energy efficient data systems.

Invitation Honors Murphy as Educational Innovator

ECE professor one of 53 selected to attend annual Frontiers of Engineering Education symposium.

Thomas Murphy Honored for Communications Research

Associate professor receives inaugural Clark School Junior Faculty Outstanding Research Award.

ECE Event Highlights Innovation, Entrepreneurship

Research Review Day showcases technology advancements in electrical and computer engineering.

Clark School Faculty Win DoD Awards

DURIP awards are for research instrumentation towards defense research.

Alumnus Wins ASTM Award

Thomas D. Murphy (B.S. '57) recognized for leadership, service.

Gligor, Ott Win DoD MURI Awards

Major awards support cross-disciplinary research projects for up to five years.

Murphy Receives DARPA Young Faculty Award

ECE faculty member is one of 24 rising stars to receive grant.

Murphy Receives NSF CAREER Award

ECE Assistant Professor Thomas E. Murphy was given a $400,000 NSF CAREER award

Clark School Accomplishments in Fall 2002

A list of Clark school accomplishments for Fall 2002, with an introduction by Dean Nariman Farvardin.

Optical Society of America (OSA)