Faculty Directory

Dasgupta, Abhijit

Dasgupta, Abhijit

Jeong H. Kim Professor
Mechanical Engineering
Center for Advanced Lifecycle Engineering
Maryland Energy Innovation Institute
Center for Risk and Reliability
2106B Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088


Ph.D., University of Illinois, 1989


Abhijit Dasgupta conducts his research on the mechanics of engineered, heterogeneous, active materials, with special emphasis on the micromechanics of constitutive and damage behavior.  He applies his expertise to several multifunctional material systems. His research contributions include solution techniques for coupled boundary value problems in multifunctional particulate and laminated composites, micromechanics approaches for constitutive properties of advanced 3-D composites, dynamic behavior and failure of thick composites, micromechanics of fatigue damage in viscoplastic eutectic-alloy composites and in short-fiber polymeric composites, and self-health monitoring in “smart” systems.  He applies these principles for developing effective virtual qualification tools, for optimizing manufacturing process windows, for real-time health monitoring and for devising quantitative accelerated testing strategies used in qualification and quality assurance of complex electronic, electromechanical and structural systems.  He has published over 150 journal articles and conference papers on these topics, presented over 20 short workshops nationally and internationally, served on the editorial boards of three different international journals, organized several national and international conferences, and received six awards for his contributions in materials engineering research and education.


Villanova University's Carl Humphrey Memorial Award, 2002


  • Associate Editor, ASME Journal of Electronic Packaging, 93-96
  • Member, Editorial Board, International Journal for Intelligent Material Systems and Structures, 1994-97

Mechanics of electronic packaging materials and “smart” composite materials Research focused on nanomechanics, micromechanics, damage mechanics and computational mechanics


  • Darbha, K., and A. Dasgupta, “A Nested Finite Element Methodology for Stress Analysis of Electronic Products,” ASME Transactions in Electronic Packaging, Vol. 123, No. 2; Part I: Theory and Formulation, pp. 141-146; Part II: Durability Analysis of Flip Chip and Chip Scale Interconnects, pp. 147-155, 2001.
  • Dasgupta, A., P. Sharma, and K. Upadhyayula, “Micro-Mechanics of Fatigue Damage in Pb-Sn Solder Due to Vibration and Thermal Cycling,” International Journal of Damage Mechanics, Vol. 10, No. 2. pp. 101-132, 2001.
  • Shetty, S., V. Lehtinen, A. Dasgupta, V. Halkola, and T. Reinikainen, “Fatigue of Chip-Scale Package Interconnects due to Cyclic Bending,” ASME Transactions in Electronic Packaging, Vol. 123, No. 3, pp. 302-308, 2001.


  • Darbha, K., J. Okura, and A. Dasgupta, “Thermo-mechanical Durability of Flip Chip Interconnects,” ASME Transactions in Electronic Packaging, Vol. 121, Part I: Without Underfill, pp. 231-236; Part II: With Underfill, pp. 237-242, 2000.
  • Alghamdi, A., and A. Dasgupta, “Eigenstrain Techniques for Modeling Adaptive Structures: Part I: Active Stiffening; Part II: Active Damping,” Journal of Intelligent Material Systems and Structures, Vol. 11, No. 8, pp. 631-641, 2000.

UMD, Booz Allen Hamilton Announce Collaboration with MMEC

Relationship will help enhance nation’s semiconductor technology.

Announcing Our Agreement With the Midwest Microelectronics Consortium

The University of Maryland and Booz Allen Hamilton have come to an agreement with the Midwest Microelectronics Consortium (MMEC) to expand MMEC’s technical areas.

Bipartisan support in Congress for Clark School-led Mid-Atlantic Semiconductor Collaborative

The collaborative, led by the University of Maryland and Booz Allen Hamilton, is uniquely positioned to advance microelectronics technologies as part of the forthcoming Microelectronics Commons initiative.

Alumnus Mark Paulus Receives 2021 Dr. Delores M. Etter Top Scientists and Engineers of the Year Award

Etter Awards recognize the U.S. Navy’s most exceptional scientists and engineers.

Ph.D. Student Abhishek Deshpande Awarded IEEE EPS Fellowship

Fellowship promotes, recognizes and supports Ph.D.-level study within the field of electronic packaging.

ARL to Fund $30M in Equipment Innovations for Service Members

UMD announces with the U.S. Army Research Lab agreements in additive manufacturing and battery research.

UMD Engineering Receives $22.8M from U.S. Army to Collaboratively Advance Additive Manufacturing Technology

The University of Maryland College Park's research partnership with the U.S. Army Research Laboratory will establish an ecosystem for revolutionary additive manufacturing technology and concepts to expedite national readiness and response.

Engineering Graduate Students Win UMD 3MT Competition

Three Clark School graduate students were among the university's 2020 Three Minute Thesis (3MT) winners.

Alumnus Receives 2020 Guggenheim Fellowship

Mechanical Engineering Alumnus Pradeep Sharma (Ph.D. ’00) Named 2020 Guggenheim Fellowship Recipient.

Alumna Appointed Director Arizona State University Polytechnic School

Leila Ladani (M.S. ’05, Ph.D. ’07) takes the helm of The Polytechnic School, one of six schools in the Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering at Arizona State University.

Kim Receives USM Regents’ Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching

University System of Maryland award recognizes Kim for his contributions to teaching.

Han Receives ASME Mechanics Award

Professor Bongtae Han named 2016 recipient of ASME's Electronic & Photonic Packaging Division Mechanics Award.

Li Awarded Society of Engineering Science Young Investigator Medal

Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor Teng Li receives 2016 SES Young Investigator Medal.

Desai Named ASME Fellow

Mechanical Engineering Professor Jaydev Desai named ASME Fellow.

Dasgupta Receives 2015 USM Regents' Faculty Award

University System of Maryland recognizes mechanical engineering faculty for excellence in scholarship.

Dasgupta, Fourney and Hwang Named ASME Fellows

Three Mechanical Engineering faculty named American Society of Mechanical Engineers Fellows

Sharma Is New University of Houston ME Chair

Mechanical engineering alumnus promoted to full professor, named Bill D. Cook Chair of Mechanical Engineering.

ASME Honors Alum, Nanoelectronics Expert

Sharma (Ph.D. '00) receives Hughes Young Investigator Award for applied mechanics research.

Other professional society fellows

  • Society of Engineering Sciences

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)